It’s been a long journey…

WEDSCRIB.jpg

1h6a4015

I’ve never really been the kinda person who enjoyed writing or thought I was any good at writing at all. Actually, I always hated any kind of english class in middle school and high school. But my brain is always filled with so many ideas and I’m constantly day dreaming of ‘what ifs’ and ‘I should do this, I should do thats’ but I never really do them. I blame myself for that, but…I guess this can be the first step to stepping out of my comfort zone. So…here’s my story…


I grew up in a small city in Michigan called Westland. It’s never really been an exciting city. Looks like your typical American neighborhood. I’ve lived in the same house for most of my life. You can see my elementary school from my bedroom window and my best friend lived 4 houses down from me. You could say I had a pretty good childhood. I have two half brothers and one half sister. They’re all around 10 years older than me, they’re amazing. My parents are my rock, they may get on my last nerves sometimes but they are my best friends. I’ve had an ordinary life….break ups, broken hearts, mental break downs, getting caught sneaking out of the house….the list goes on. Everything was typical and cliche up until May 4, 2013 @ 5:17PM…from that time on my life changed forever.

 

DEAN.jpg1h6a4246

            I’m sure you’ve heard of the app called ‘Vine’…well that’s where it all began. I won’t get into all the mushy details but as soon as I seen Dean I had hearts in my eyes. Blue eyes, brown hair, tattoos and everything in between. I’m not the kinda girl who goes out looking for someone, I was officially single my whole life so I was very independent and was fine being alone. Long story short…I searched #british in Vine and was scrolling through videos and came across Dean. Of course I went and found him on Twitter. We started talking and we instantly clicked. We both are smart asses, weirdos, gif/meme masters and ended up having the same exact birthday, February 10th. He is my absolute soul mate, my other half….no literally he is me but a male.

               Anyways…after a handful of months of talking he finally decided to fly to visit me. The rest is history…starting from August 2013 we have been traveling back and forth to see each other. It’s been the hardest thing I’ve ever experienced but at the same time it’s the most amazing thing I’ve ever experienced. It sounds so cliche to say ‘when you know, you know’ but ever since I met Dean, I believe in that. I was the girl who ‘was never going to get married what’s the point, blah blah blah’ and same for Dean, he felt the same way about marriage. My parents and friends thought I was crazy. I was crazy….crazy for him.

1h6a4225

But when we met each other our whole worlds turned upside down.

I haven’t seen Dean in 7 months. Everybody always asks me how do I do it and I say the same thing every time. I just do. It comes natural for us. Before I met Dean I can admit I was the girl who had zero trust when it came to men. And not once did I have any kind of feeling like that with Dean. Well…months of sleeping alone, Facetime calls, 8 hour flights and jet lag every 4-5 months, we finally received my  UK spouse visa in the mail today. After a WHOLE year of getting our paperwork, emails, plane tickets, messages, cards, bank stubs…I can tell you right now I was completely in pieces driving to pick it up today. As soon as I opened the package I read the first sentence “Your UK visa application has been a success” and I lost it. The thought of someone else possibly deciding that me and my husband couldn’t be together just made me crumble. All of our hard work has finally paid off and I get to see my husband in 3 weeks time. It is going to feel like meeting each other for the first time all over again, the feeling never gets old. Even though it’s been 7 months since we have seen each other, it will feel like it’s only been days when we are back in each others arms.

1h6a3874

Our official wedding is this year…July 22, 2016 and we couldn’t be any more excited. Our story is one of kind and I love telling it to anybody who is interested. I always ask myself…..what if I didn’t scroll down as far as I did? What if I stopped before I got to Deans video? Would I of met him in the future? Where would I be now? Everything happens for a reason and I truly believe in that statement. I was in a dark place in my life right before I met Dean and I didn’t have much hope left. He brought the light back into my life.

You know, not many people will read this or even know this blog exists but hell I don’t care. This will become a good hobby for when I move over to England and have a fresh start when it comes to friends. I’m putting this out there for anybody who is in a long distance relationship or even in a short distance relationship. Never lose hope and never give up. True love does exist and you’ll find it someday if you really want it.

I always say…everything will be okay. Everything will work out in the end…it always does.

IMG_9824


raohhlogo

INSTAGRAM  |  TWITTER  |  FACEBOOK  |  TUMBLR
Leave a Reply

