Brighton | Being happy | Homesick

brightonscrib


image8

Dean & myself have been to Brighton about 3-4 times now and from the first time we arrived, it’s been love ever since. So this is going to be an emotional post guys…just a warning. It’s hard to put into words how exactly Brighton makes me feel. It almost feels like home, more so than where we are living at the moment. It makes me feel comfortable. It makes me feel like I have a purpose and that I have so many opportunities to make something out of myself and my dreams. I don’t feel as homesick when I’m there. It’s not one specific thing about Brighton that makes me feel this way either, it’s the combination of everything it has to offer. From the people, the community as a whole, buildings and to me…it’s such an inspiring place that just ignites my passions and interests. If that makes any sense. At the end of the day, it just fills me with positive vibes.

image1-2


This isn’t going to be a very short post, it’s just going to be a bit of a release of my emotions about Brighton. If you know me in real life, I’m sure you’ve heard me rave about Brighton already, so this might be old news to most people reading. But recently Dean (my husband) and I…have officially decided that we are moving to Brighton. It won’t be happening anytime very soon…unfortunately. Because it’s just very very hard at the moment when it comes to money. I’m not going to go into any amount of detail about it but it’s the main problem currently. The location that we are living in currently, does me no favors at all when it comes to being homesick, looking for a solid job, making friends or having anything to see or anything to do. Now, I’m not complaining…but I am. I am more than grateful that I am able to be/live with my amazing husband and that we have a roof over our head. But for a colorful crazy minded person that I am…that can only be enough, you know?


bright


image2

It’s a place that makes me feel complete. It makes me feel inspired, hopeful and excited for the future. You may be thinking, but Racheal it’s just a town. It’s so much more than that to me. It’s not just about the physical things Brighton has to offer that makes me want to move there. It’s the way it mentally makes me feel. Especially at this time in my life, I strive for positive and feel good emotions. Anybody that has moved away from home for the first time knows exactly what I’m talking about. You can’t move away from your entire family and friends and live in a place that has nothing to offer you. You need to live in a place that gives you life, makes you excited to make your home and excited to bring other people into your home and your environment. It’s hard to admit, but that feeling of being homesick is something I will struggle with every single day. Some days it’s easier than others but it will always be there in the back of my head. The best way to explain it, is that you just feel like you’re missing out. But in reality, it’s not like that at all. Sure you might be missing out on things back at home, but you are creating new memories and new situations for yourself that will only make you stronger. I know I just said that it feels like I am missing out…but at the same time, I know that if I was living back in Michigan…my heart would be striving for more. So, I am happy where I am now. Now it has pros and it has its cons…but I’m telling you right now if you spend your entire life not doing things you want to do because of the cons, you’ll end up in a place where you feel like you’ve only ‘settled’ for, your heart won’t feel full. It’s going to be scary and it’s going to be hard but once you overcome it, it’s the most rewarding feeling you can feel. So if you’re sitting here reading this and thinking of that one thing you want to do but you are lingering on the ‘buts’ and the ‘ifs’, then stop. Think of the end result and it will make your decision that much easier. If you want it, you’ll make it happen.


and


image5 (1).JPG

I feel like Brighton fills that hole for me. It’s a place where there’s always something to do, there’s always something to see or there’s always somebody you can talk to…even if it’s a stranger on the beach or sitting next to you in the pub. New conversations with new people inspire me so much, it opens so many doors. It seems there’s always something there. Brighton is filled with amazing people, food, businesses, and opportunities. When anybody from home (Michigan) comes to visit, I will be over the moon excited to show them everything there is to see there. It’s full of creativity and acceptance. I could go on and on about Brighton but we would be here for the next 5 hours.

image1 (3).JPGimage1-1image2.PNG6049831939_5b979cf9bc_b.jpg


Every time we leave Brighton, I instantly just want to go back. Every time I look through the pictures, my heart breaks a little. But I love it at the same time because it really gets me motivated to save up every last little amount of money so Dean & myself can fulfill our dream and move to the place where we belong. It’s going to be a hard long journey of saving money but it’s going to happen this year and I won’t give up until it happens. Overall, us moving to Brighton will help me in every way when it comes to filling this empty gap I’m feeling right now. It will give me a place to call our very own, a job I will love and can walk to, a beach to stroll down whenever I’m feeling sad, a pub to hang out in when I need a friend to talk to, an amazing community to finally get the dog we’ve ALWAYS wanted to raise and a place where a number of friends to be made is endless. The possibilities have no end, it’s just a damn bloody awesome time.

image5image4FullSizeRender (4).jpgimage3


so


image6.JPG

The day that Dean & myself are packing all of our belongings and step out the front door and head to you…will be the best day of our lives. The first night we get to sleep in our new home, will be the moment our hearts become full. It’s a nice feeling to have to look forward to and it will be very rewarding when we finally succeed this goal. Every day will be a new adventure and going to bed at night will just mean we have another day to look forward to. I usually am too realistic when it comes to big moves like this…I can be quite a pessimist sometimes.(One of my worst flaws) But this time, it feels different. You really can accomplish anything you really put your heart and mind into and I have good vibes about all of this. Guys, it’s going to happen and the day I get to post a picture of Dean and me in our new place in our new home, you and I both will have a huge smile on our face thinking back to this very post.

Until then….cheers to new beginnings and cheers to being happy. See ya!

image2-1


raohhlogo

INSTAGRAM  |  TWITTER  |  FACEBOOK  |  TUMBLR
2 thoughts on “Brighton | Being happy | Homesick

Leave a Reply

